North Central HIDTA

History of North Central HIDTA


April 1998 Milwaukee County designated as a HIDTA

2000 - Moved to a new facility, collocation of ISC, and support functions, some initiatives remained in four locations.

2002 - Two initiatives combined to form Drug Gang Task Force. Three additional counties (Waukesha, Racine and Kenosha) designated.

2003 - Moved to a new location all initiatives collocated in open concept environment. Upgraded all IT equipment.

2004 - Two Milwaukee County DAs located at HIDTA offices.

2005 - ACISS case management system installed.  Three DAs located at HIDTA offices.  The Metropolitan Milwaukee Drug Enforcement Group (MMDEG) co-located at HIDTA.

2006 - ACISS system merged with the WI DOJ-DCI ACISS program.  Law enforcement agencies seek our assistance in complex conspiracy investigations.

2007 - Milwaukee continues to be at the forefront of Wisconsin’s court authorized electronic intercepts. 

2008 - Heroin Initiative combined with the REACT initiative.

2009 - Dane County received HIDTA designation.

2010 - Safe & Sound received 2010 National HIDTA Prevention Award.  U.S. Secret Service and I.R.S. became participating members.  Rock & Brown Counties received HIDTA designation.  WI State Patrol becomes member.  

2010 - Brown & Rock Counties received HIDTA designation. 

2010 - WI State Patrol becomes member

2010 - U.S. Secret Service and I.R.S. became participating members

2011 - Safe & Sound received White House Champions of Change Award.  U.S. Coast Guard Investigative Service became participating member.  Safe & Sound received Drug Free Community grant.

2011 - U.S. Coast Guard Investigative Service became participating member. 

2012 - US Postal Inspection Service and USDA Forest Service became members.  REACT initiative dissolved and Heroin, Interdiction and Southeastern Drug TF formed.

2013 - Executive Board voted to change the name from Milwaukee HIDTA to Wisconsin HIDTA.

2013 - Outstanding HIDTA ISC Analyst of the Year award received 

2014 - Heroin continues to be the greatest threat to the region. 

2015 - Outstanding HIDTA ISC of the Year award received.

2016 - Disrupted or dismantled 31 drug trafficking organizations (DTOs); seized drugs and assets with wholesale value of over $10.8 million; Outstanding HIDTA Info Technology Staff of the Year award; 255 firearms seized; 303 fugitives apprehended; 667 defendants prosecuted; trained over 1,500 enforcement and community service personnel at no cost; 24,496 youth participated in crime prevention activities; 144 youth engagement events.  Five Minnesota counties received HIDTA designation: Anoka, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, and Washington

2017 - Executive Board voted to change name to North Central HIDTA.

2017 - Outstanding HIDTA ISC Analyst of the Year award received

2018 - St Louis County MN received HIDTA designation 

2019 Olmstead County MN received HIDTA designation

2019 - Opioid Task Force in WI replaces the Heroin TF Initiative to address increases in synthetic opioids, such as fentanyl and Fentanyl Related Substances and other synthetic drugs as the greatest threats to the region.

2020 Outstanding HIDTA ISC Analyst of the Year award received

2020 - Eau Claire County WI received HIDTA designation. Eau Claire County leads the West Central Drug Task Force that includes several other adjacent/neighboring counties, municipalities, and state law enforcement agencies

2021 Cities of Kenosha and Pleasant Prairie Police Departments joined to create the Ken-Prairie Drug Gang Task Force that was approved by the Executive Board to become as HIDTA initiative within Kenosha County, a previously HIDTA designated County.